Scheduling lets managers have confidence that inspections are being completed on time, as required.  Schedules have a “start at” and “complete by” (due) time that define a time window in which a scheduled inspection may be completed before being considered missed.

 

Team members and groups can be assigned a recurring schedule of inspections to be completed within a timeframe.  These are tracked in their own menu in the iAuditor app and can be reviewed.

 

Scheduling can be accessed on a free or premium subscription, from the mobile device and the iAuditor web app.  The biggest benefit of Scheduling comes from users working in teams and better managing their operations by automating inspection scheduling.

 

Creating a Scheduled Inspection

  • From the iAuditor web app, click the ‘Scheduling’ menu on the left.

 

  • From here, click the ‘Manage Schedules’ link at the top of the page.

 

  • Then, click ‘Schedule Audit.’

 

You can then create a scheduled inspection and assign it to a user, Group, or up to 10 individual users.

IMPORTANT NOTE

At this time, a Scheduled Inspection can only be assigned to users and groups within your Organisation.

Template:  This field allows you to select a template for the scheduled inspection.  Note that your user(s) do not have to have sharing access set up for this file; Scheduling will grant, then revoke, sharing for this template during the inspection time period.

Assignee:  This field provides the assignee of the scheduled inspection, selected from your organisation.  You may use up to 10 individual users or one group.

Start Date / Complete By:  You can utilize these fields to select the time period the inspection should be started and completed by.  The inspection can be set on a recurring basis Daily, Every Weekday, Weekly or Monthly.

IMPORTANT NOTE

When scheduling an inspection, the system will default to a 3-hour window.

Title:  If you wish to name the scheduled inspection, you can do so here – you can also use the suggested title link provided.

After setting your parameters, click ‘Save Schedule.’  Your inspection will now appear in the Scheduled Inspections menu.

 

Who Can See Scheduling?

When an inspection is scheduled, the assigned user(s) will receive a notification in the Schedule tab of their mobile device.  The Schedule tab displays the upcoming 7 days of scheduled inspections.

IMPORTANT NOTE

Any user that is granted the “Schedule Management” permission can create and manage schedules for their organisation. The “Schedule Management” permission is a part of the Admin permission. Thus existing administrators will inherit the “Schedule Management” permission. You can also create schedules for Templates you only have view permission for.

 

How do I Start and Complete a Scheduled Inspection?

There are two ways to begin a Scheduled Inspection:

 

If the user is within the timeframe of the scheduled inspection, they can access the iAuditor web app and click ‘Start Inspection’ on the template.  Provided the user is within the “start at” and “complete by” times, this inspection will count as fulfilling the requirements of the scheduled inspection.  If they are early or late, the app will notify them that they are unable to perform the inspection.

 

 

From the Templates list in the iAuditor mobile app, select the template which has been scheduled, and start a new inspection. Provided you are within the “start at” and “complete by” times, this inspection will count as fulfilling the requirements of your scheduled inspection.

When scheduled, a user cannot complete a scheduled inspection outside of the “start at” and “complete by” (due) times.  

All schedules will be localised to each users timezone.  For example, if an inspection is set to schedule for 9am in every location, it will appear as 9am for each user regardless of their timezone.

How Does a User With a Scheduled Inspection Get Notified?

The assignee(s) will receive an email and a push notification at the “Start At” time for a scheduled audit.

Push notifications can only be sent if they are enabled for iAuditor on the mobile device. Notifications for scheduling can be customised in the notification settings. Learn more.

 

What if a Scheduled Inspection is Not Performed?

If a scheduled inspection was not completed between “start at” and “complete by” (due) time, this schedule will be marked as ‘missed,’ and is removed from the assignee’s Schedule list.  T0 see missed inspection, do the following:

In the Scheduling section of the iAuditor web platform, there is a tab on the top navigation bar to see a list of Missed inspections.

 

 

You can also view further and more specific analytics regarding Scheduled Inspections in Analytics. Navigate to Analytics → Inspections → Scheduled.

How Does Scheduling Work with My Existing Sharing?

Scheduling compliments existing sharing arrangements, as Inspections scheduled by your administrator to the users will be shared automatically back to the administrator, with no additional configuration needed.  You can set an inspection to be scheduled and the inspection report will be sent to you automatically.

Existing shares are respected as they exist currently, and your settings won’t change as a result of Scheduling.  For example, If User A does not have access to Template 1, he is automatically granted View access to Template 1 if he is assigned a schedule with that template.  Remember that the View permission allows a user the ability to see and use the template, but not change or delete it.

IMPORTANT NOTE

Currently the Scheduling feature on mobile devices is online only.  An internet connection is required for inspections to be associated with a schedule (even if they meet schedule requirements)

 

My device is showing schedules with timeframes that I didn’t set up / How do I change my timezone setting?

  1. First, ensure the most current version of iAuditor is installed on the mobile device.  This can be done by visiting the iOS App Store or Google Play Store.
  2. Next, check the device time is accurate and set automatically by the operating system – to ensure correctness.
  3. Ensure the time zone on the user account is set properly.
    1. Log into the iAuditor web app.
    2. Click the username in the upper left of the menu.
    3. Click ‘Edit Details.’
      1. Alternatively, go to: https://app.safetyculture.io/#/account/myprofile
    4. Check that the timezone matches the expected timezone of the user.  If it does not, update this value.
      • Users may need to wait up to five minutes to see this change reflected on their device Schedule list.

Changing Timezones

If a user changes locale (i.e – flies from Sydney → Madrid), the next time they reload their Schedule list on their device, or login to the web platform, they should see a prompt banner to update their timezone to their new locale.

If they update their time zone, all future occurrences will be in the time zone of their new locale.

The iAuditor Web App is Showing “Next Due” in my Schedules list, that doesn’t match what I set up

 

The Next Due column displays the next time window in which the inspection is due.  This time (displayed in your local timezone) represents the next time window that all assignees can complete this scheduled inspection

If all your assignees are in the same time zone as you (the scheduler) then this time window will be the same as you set up the Schedule Creation screen (the default is 9am – 5pm)

If the time in the Next Due column is not the the same as you set up the Schedule Creation screen it means:

  • One or more of your assignees are not in the same time zone as you and / or
  • You may have assignees in multiple time zones. The Next Due shows the total time window of all assignees (across their potentially many time zones).
  • It’s worth nothing that each assignee still only has the time you set up to complete their inspection (in the default example: 9am – 5pm)
  • If you want to update a timezone for a user, see How Do I Change My Timezone Setting? above.

How do I delete a schedule?

We recommend ‘archiving’ schedules instead of deleting them if you still want the results to display in analytics. To archive a schedule, select the three dots symbol when you click on an already created schedule.

 

It will ask you again if you would like to archive.

 

You can then archive it so it removes the schedule from your list. Of course, if you want to remove the schedule and all the historical data with it, you can simply delete it.