Having access to the information you need is an important factor in achieving success for an organization. That’s why we’ve developed a simple way to assign templates and inspections to the relevant users/groups in your organization.

In iAuditor, there are two steps to the sharing process. Step one, sharing the template to users or groups, then step two, setting up the auto-sharing of inspection results conducted by the users or groups from step one.

This article outlines the permissions (access levels) you can assign for templates and inspections, the steps to share templates, and how to set up the auto-sharing of inspection results. For the best experience, we recommend setting up sharing on our web app, however, the process can also be done on the mobile app. If you want to edit the existing setup of a template, check out our guide on managing template sharing and inspection auto-sharing.

IMPORTANT NOTE

Before you start, we recommend reading our guide on the four key questions to think about when it comes to sharing.

Sharing permissions

  • The “View” permission is the basic access level:
    Templates: Users can only use the template to conduct new inspections.
    Inspections: Users can only view (read-only) the inspection report.
  • The “View and Edit” permission is the common access level:
    Templates: Users can use the template to conduct new inspections and edit its content.
    Inspections: Users can view the inspection report and edit its content.
  • The “View, Edit and Delete” permission is the full access level:
    Templates: Users can use the template to conduct new inspections, edit its content, as well as archive and delete it.
    Inspections: Users can view the inspection report, edit its content, as well as archive and delete it.

Step 1: Share a template

You must have at least the “View and Edit” permission to a template in order to share it. If you are an administrator, learn how you can assign yourself the Data Management permission to have full access to all templates and inspections in your organization.

Web app

  1. Log in to the iAuditor web app.
  2. Select “Templates” from the left-hand side menu.
  3. Hover your cursor over the template you wish to share.
  4. Click “Share” on the right-hand side.
  5. The Sharing option window appears. Ensure “Basic Sharing” is displayed on the lower-right corner of the window. If you see “Advanced Sharing", click to proceed.
  6. Click “Share With” at the bottom of the window.
  7. Select the checkboxes of groups or users you wish to share the template with, from the “Groups” or “Users” list.
  8. Each time you select a group or user’s checkbox, click “Select Permission” on the right-hand side to select the template access level you wish to provide for the group or user.
  9. Click “Next (Share Inspections)” at the lower-right corner of the window once you are ready to move on to inspection auto-sharing.
  10. Continue to Step 2 below for instructions on auto-sharing inspections.

Mobile app: Android

  1. Log in to iAuditor on your mobile device.
  2. Tap on “Inspections” at the bottom of your screen.
  3. Select the “Templates” tab at the top of your screen.
  4. Search and select the template you wish to share.
  5. Select “Share with team members” from the pop-up options.
  6. Tap the blue button at the lower-right corner of your screen.
  7. Select the groups or users you wish to share the template with.
  8. Tap the rightward arrow at the upper-right corner of your screen when you are ready to move on.
  9. Tap the downward arrow next to each group or user name.
  10. Select the template access level you wish to provide for the group or user.
  11. Continue to Step 2 below for instructions on auto-sharing inspections.

Mobile app: iOS

  1. Log in to iAuditor on your mobile device.
  2. Tap on “Inspections” at the bottom of your screen.
  3. Select the “Templates” tab at the top of your screen.
  4. Search and select the template you wish to share.
  5. Select “Share template” from the pop-up options.
  6. Tap “ + ” at the upper-right corner of your screen.
  7. Select the groups or users you wish to share the template with.
  8. Tap “Share” at the upper-right corner of your screen once you’re ready to move on.
  9. Tap the name of each group(s) or user(s) you have shared the template to.
  10. Tap the 3 dots on the right-hand side of the group or user name to select the template access level you wish to provide.
  11. Tap “Share” at the upper-left corner of your screen once you’re ready to move on.
  12. Continue to Step 2 below for instructions on auto-sharing inspections.

Step 2: Auto-share inspections

IMPORTANT NOTE

Changes made to inspection auto-sharing only apply to new inspections moving forward. If you would like to apply your new auto-sharing structure to existing inspections, contact our customer support team for assistance.

Web app

  1. Continuing from Step 1 above, after clicking “Next (Share Inspections)”, you should see yourself in the “Auto-Share Inspections” window.
  2. This step determines which groups or users are auto-shared the inspections conducted by the initial groups or users selected in Step 1: Share a template. By default, your account gets added to the inspection auto-sharing with “View, Edit and Delete” permission.
  3. Select the checkboxes of groups or users you wish to have inspections auto-share with.
  4. Each time you select a group or user’s checkbox, click “Select Permission” on the right-hand side to select the inspection access level you wish to provide for the group or user.
  5. Click “Done” at the lower-right corner of the window to complete the setup.
  6. To check that you have shared the template and auto-shared inspections correctly, you can see the groups or users you have shared the template to from the list, and click on each group or user name to view who gets auto-shared inspections conducted by them.

Mobile app: Android

  1. Continuing from Step 1 above, go through the groups or users you have shared the template to one by one.
  2. This step determines which groups or users are auto-shared the inspections conducted by the initial groups or users selected in Step 1: Share a template. By default, your account gets added to the inspection auto-sharing with “View, Edit, and Delete” permission.
  3. For each group or user, tap the group or user name to manage the inspection auto-sharing.
  4. Tap the blue button at the lower-right corner of your screen.
  5. Select the groups or users you wish to have inspections auto-share with.
  6. Tap the rightward arrow at the upper-right corner of your screen when you are ready to move on.
  7. Tap the downward arrow next to each group or user name.
  8. Select the inspection access level you wish to provide for the group or user.
  9. Tap the leftward arrow at the upper-left corner of your screen to complete the setup.
  10. To check that you have shared the template and auto-shared inspections correctly, you can see the groups or users you have shared the template to from the list, and tap on each group or user name to view who gets auto-shared inspections conducted by them.

Mobile app: iOS

  1. Continuing from Step 1 above, go through the groups or users you have shared the template to one by one.
  2. This step determines which groups or users are auto-shared the inspections conducted by the initial groups or users selected in Step 1: Share a template. By default, your account gets added to the inspection auto-sharing with “View, Edit, and Delete” permission.
  3. For each group or user, tap the group or user name to manage the inspection auto-sharing.
  4. Tap “Add auto share”.
  5. Select the groups or users you wish to have inspections auto-share with.
  6. Tap “Share” at the upper-right corner of your screen once you’re ready to move on.
  7. Tap the 3 dots on the right-hand side of the group or user name to select the inspection access level you wish to provide for the group or user.
  8. Tap “Share” at the upper-left corner of your screen once you’re ready to move on.
  9. To check that you have shared the template and auto-shared inspections correctly, you can see the groups or users you have shared the template to from the list, and tap on each group or user name to view who gets auto-shared inspections conducted by them.
Was this article helpful?

We love your feedback. Please tell us what you think.


Yes No
Care to share a bit more so we can continue to make improvements for you? Care to share a bit more so we can make this article even better for you? Thanks for your feedback!