Whenever a template or inspection is created in iAuditor, the user who created it becomes the owner of that document. By default, the document owner has full permission over a template or inspection. We understand that organization structures can constantly shift and that from time to time, the ownership of documents may also need to be reassigned when changes take place.

This article shows you how to reassign the ownership of your templates and inspections on the web app.

Before you begin

Please note that document ownership can only be reassigned on the web app by the current owner. If you’re an administrator, you can reassign document ownership by removing a user from the organization and reassigning all templates and inspections owned by that user to someone else in the process.

Keep in mind that document ownership reassignment only changes the owner of a template or inspection. The author of a document will always remain as the name of the user who created it at the time.

Reassign template ownership

  1. Log in to the iAuditor web app.
  2. Select “Templates” from the menu on the left-hand side.
  3. Click “All” next to the search field on the upper-left of the templates list and select “Owned by me”.
  4. Click the template you wish to reassign ownership of.
  5. Select “Sharing” in the pop-up window and make sure “Basic Sharing” is displayed on the lower-right corner of the window. If you see “Advanced Sharing", click it to proceed.
  6. Click your username in the “Template Owner” field.
  7. Search for the user you wish to reassign ownership to and click “Make Owner” next to that user’s name.
  8. This provides your account the “View, Edit and Delete” permission, assigns the user as the new template owner, and sends the user an email notification to indicate the reassignment.

Reassign inspection ownership

  1. Log in to the iAuditor web app.
  2. Select “Inspections” from the menu on the left-hand side.
  3. Click “All” next to the search field on the upper-left of the inspections list and select “Owned by me”.
  4. Hover your cursor over the inspection you wish to reassign ownership of and click “More Options” on the right-hand side.
  5. Select “Sharing” in the pop-up window and make sure “Basic Sharing” is displayed on the lower-right corner of the window. If you see “Advanced Sharing", click it to proceed.
  6. Click your username in the “Audit Owner” field.
  7. Search for the user you wish to reassign ownership to and click “Make Owner” next to that user’s name.
  8. This provides your account the “View, Edit and Delete” permission, assigns the user as the new inspection owner, and sends the user an email notification to indicate the reassignment.
Was this article helpful?

We love your feedback. Please tell us what you think.


Yes No
Care to share a bit more so we can continue to make improvements for you? Care to share a bit more so we can make this article even better for you? Thanks for your feedback!