It is important to structure your organization on iAuditor so that certain accesses are only provided to managers or administrators. Permissions in iAuditor allow you to provide feature access to specific users or groups. This ensures that not everyone can inadvertently make unwanted changes to the organization, such as adding or removing users, updating subscription details, and create templates.

This article outlines how you can assign or edit permissions for your team, and describes what access each permission provides, as well as answers to some of our frequently asked questions on permissions in organizations.

IMPORTANT NOTE

If you're looking to give people access to templates and inspections, as well as setting the permission of that access, please refer to our sharing guide.

Assign permissions

  1. Log in to the iAuditor web app.
  2. Click your organization/team name on the lower-left corner of the page.
  3. Select “Permissions” from the tab on the top of the page.
  4. Click “Assign permissions” on the upper-right corner of the page.
  5. A pop-up window appears, type in the name of the user or group you wish to assign permissions to.
  6. The results filter by the keywords you type in, select the user or group from the results list. We recommend assigning permissions to created groups, as you can easily add users to the group moving forward to provide the permission.
  7. Click on the downward arrow to see the list of permissions. You can learn more about each permission in the permission details table below.
  8. Check the boxes of permissions you wish to assign to the user or group.
    IMPORTANT NOTE

    If you see permissions already selected and are greyed out, it means the user or group has inherited permissions from an existing permission setting on the page. You can hover your cursor over the “i” icon next to the greyed out permissions to find out where the permission is inherited from and follow the section below for instructions to edit or remove the permission.

  9. Click the upward arrow to minimize the drop-down menu once you’ve finished selecting permissions for the user or group.
  10. Click “Assign permission”.
  11. The user or group appears on the page with the assigned permissions.

Edit or remove existing permissions

  1. Log in to the iAuditor web app.
  2. Click your organization/team name on the lower-left corner of the page.
  3. Select “Permissions” from the tab on the top of the page.
  4. Click the search box on the upper-left corner of the permissions list.
  5. Type in the user or group name you wish to edit permissions for.
  6. To remove the assigned permission for this user or group, click the 3 vertical dots on the left-hand side of the user or group name.
  7. Click “Remove permission”.
  8. A pop-up appears, click “Remove” to confirm the permission removal.
  9. To update the assigned permission, click on the downward arrow on the right-hand side of the user or group.
  10. Click on the downward arrow to see the list of permissions. You can learn more about each permission in the permission details table below.
  11. Check and uncheck the boxes of permissions you wish to edit for the user or group.
    IMPORTANT NOTE

    If you see permissions already selected and are greyed out, it means the user or group has inherited permissions from an existing permission setting on the page. You can hover your cursor over the “i” icon next to the greyed out permissions to find out where the permission is inherited from and edit the permission to that group or organization first.

  12. Click “Save” on the lower-right corner of the drop-down list once you’ve finished editing permissions for the user or group.

Permission details

You can customize the permissions for the whole organization, an individual user, or a group of users with the following options:

PermissionDescription
AdminProvides full control of the iAuditor organization account, including Site management . Selecting this permission automatically selects all other permissions apart from Data Management and Data Access.
Billing ManagementProvides the ability to view billing statements and update subscription billnig details for the organization account.
Group ManagementProvides the ability to create, edit, and delete groups in the organization. Selecting this permission automatically selects the User Management permission.
User ManagementProvides the ability to add, remove, and manage users in the organization.
Data ManagementProvides view, edit, and delete permission to all templates and inspections in the organization. Selecting this permission automatically selects the Data Access permission.
Data AccessProvides view permission to all templates and inspections in the organization. This permission defaults to apply on the web app only, with the option to enable Data Access on the mobile app as well. Note the mobile app options cannot be selected for organizations with more than 200 templates.
Schedule ManagementProvides the ability to view, edit, and delete all schedules in the organization.
Template CreationProvides the ability to create new templates and download from the Public library
Manage Response SetsProvides the ability to create and edit global response sets
Upload to the Public LibraryProvides the ability to upload templates to the Public Library.
Manage Report PreferencesProvides the ability to create and edit global report preferences in the organization.
Incident ManagementProvides the ability to delete incidents and customize incident categories in the organization. Selecting this permission automatically selects the Incident Access permission.
Incident AccessProvides the ability to report new incidents and access existing ones.
Sensor ManagementProvides the ability to add new sensors and edit existing sensor settings in the organization. Selecting this permission automatically selects the Sensor Access permission.
Sensor AccessProvides the ability to view all sensor-related content in the organization.

FAQ

Should I assign permissions to users or groups?

As a best practice, we recommend assigning permissions to groups, so that moving forward, you can add users to that group to inherit those permissions, rather than assigning permissions one by one. Learn more about how you can create groups.

What does it mean to inherit permissions?

A user inherits permissions when the organization or a group that this user is part of has been assigned permissions. For example, if your organization has been provided the Admin permission, every user in the organization would inherit this and have the Admin permission.

Why does one of my users have the Template Creation permission, but I don’t see the user on the Permissions list?

It’s likely that the user has inherited the permission from either the organization or a group. You can search for the names of the organization and groups this user is in on the list, and remove or edit the Template Creation permission from there.

Why can I not see all actions in my organization when I have the Data Management and Data Access permission?

To see actions, the inspections from which actions are created from, need to be directly shared to your account. Learn how to set up inspection auto-sharing so that nothing gets missed!

Can I remove the permission for my organization?

To ensure that all organizations have some level of default permission when a new user joins, the permission for the organization will always be there and cannot be removed. If you want the default to be that users in your organization have no permissions unless assigned individually or in a group, you can follow the instructions above to edit and uncheck all permissions for the organization level. This will save the organization permission as “No Permissions”.

Was this article helpful?

We love your feedback. Please tell us what you think.


Yes No
Care to share a bit more so we can continue to make improvements for you? Care to share a bit more so we can make this article even better for you? Thanks for your feedback!