We understand that in some scenarios, you may have employees leaving the company and no longer requiring their iAuditor accounts or have seasonal workers/contractors who only require accounts for a short period of time. Depending on the situation, you can deactivate or remove users to either revoke access from them or reassign their documents to other users in the organization. Whom you can always reactivate or invite back into the organization at any time.

This article shows you how to deactivate and activate users in your organization, as well as how to remove users and reassign their documents, on the web app.

Before you begin

User deactivation or removal can only be done on the web app, and only administrators or users with the “User Management” permission can perform the action. Learn more about permissions and how you can assign them as an administrator. Keep in mind that removing a user from your organization does not delete the user, instead, it downgrades the user to a free plan outside your organization.

If your subscription is billed monthly, the number of user seats reduce automatically when a user is deactivated or removed from your organization. You will also be provided with a prorated amount of credit from this reduction, which can be put towards future renewal charges.

If your subscription is billed annually, deactivating and removing a user from your organization frees up a user seat that can be filled by a new user. Please note that whilst you can increase the number of user seats at any time, you can only reduce the number of user seats 28 days before your annual renewal.

Deactivate a user

  1. Log in to the iAuditor web app.
  2. Click your organization/team name on the lower-left corner of the page.
  3. Select “Users” from the tab on the top of the page.
  4. Search for the user you wish to deactivate.
  5. Click the 3 dots next to the username and select “Deactivate user”.
  6. To deactivate users in bulk, click the checkboxes of all the users you wish to deactivate. Then click “Deactivate” above the user list, below the search field.

Activate a user

  1. Log in to the iAuditor web app.
  2. Click your organization/team name on the lower-left corner of the page.
  3. Select “Users” from the tab on the top of the page.
  4. Search for the user you wish to activate.
  5. Click the 3 dots next to the username and select “Activate user”.
  6. To deactivate users in bulk, click the checkboxes of all the users you wish to deactivate. Then click “Activate” above the user list, below the search field.
  7. Click “Activate user” in the pop-up window to confirm activation. If you don’t have enough user seats for the number of users you wish to activate, the pop-up window will indicate the number of additional user seats you’ll be charged for.

Remove a user

Although you can always invite users you remove back into the organization, reassigning their documents is irreversible. Confirmation is always required before removing a user, so be sure you are not removing the wrong users.

  1. Log in to the iAuditor web app.
  2. Click your organization/team name on the lower-left corner of the page.
  3. Select “Users” from the tab on the top of the page.
  4. Search for the user you wish to remove.
  5. Click the 3 dots next to the username and select “Remove user”.
  6. To deactivate users in bulk, click the checkboxes of all the users you wish to deactivate. Then click “Remove” above the user list, below the search field.
  7. You must reassign the templates and inspections the user(s) own before removing them. Type in the name or email of the user you wish to reassign ownership to in the text field and select the user from the list.
  8. Click “Reassign and remove” to confirm the action.
Was this article helpful?

We love your feedback. Please tell us what you think.


Yes No
Care to share a bit more so we can continue to make improvements for you? Care to share a bit more so we can make this article even better for you? Thanks for your feedback!