It is important to structure your organization on iAuditor so that certain feature access is only provided to users or groups that require them, such as the ability to manage subscription billing or to view all inspections in the organization. Permissions management in iAuditor allows you to control feature access, ensuring that not everyone can inadvertently make unwanted changes to the organization, such as adding or removing users and create new templates.

This article shows you how to assign and manage feature access permissions in your organization on the web app. Please note that this article refers to permissions in terms of feature access, such as enabling and disabling the ability to create new templates for users or groups. If you’re looking to share or give users or groups access to templates and inspections, check out how you can share templates and auto-share inspections.

Before you begin

Please note, permissions management is a web app feature and is only available for Premium organizations. Learn how to upgrade your free account and unlock the full iAuditor experience, starting with a 30-day trial!

Keep in mind that organization permissions can only be managed by users with the “Admin” permission. If you’re an administrator, you can follow the instructions in this article and assign other users as administrators as well to help you manage the organization.

New and reactivated users by default inherit the organization’s permission. They are explicitly excluded unless you assign them permissions following the instructions in this article.

Permissions

We recommend that you familiarize yourself with each permission before managing permissions in your organization.

PermissionDescription
AdminProvides full access over the iAuditor organization, including the ability to manage permissions and sites. Selecting this permission automatically selects all other permissions apart from “Data Management” and “Data Access”.
Billing ManagementProvides the ability to manage the organization’s subscription.
Group ManagementProvides the ability to create and manage groups in the organization. Selecting this permission automatically selects the “User Management” permission.
User ManagementProvides the ability to add, deactivate, and manage users in the organization.
Data ManagementProvides full access to all templates and inspections in the organization. Selecting this permission automatically selects the “Data Access” permission.
Data AccessProvides full visibility to templates and inspections in the organization. This permission by default only applies to the web app, with the option to apply to the mobile app as well. Please note that the mobile app option is not available for organizations with more than 200 templates.
Schedule ManagementProvides the ability to view and manage all inspection schedules in the organization.
Template CreationProvides the ability to create new templates, including downloading templates from the Public Library.
Manage Response SetsProvides the ability to create and manage Global Response Sets in the organization.
Upload to the Public LibraryProvides the ability to upload templates to the Public Library.
Manage Report PreferencesProvides the ability to create and manage Report Preferences that are available for all templates in the organization.
Issue ManagementProvides the ability to customize issue categories and alerts, as well as delete issues in the organization. Selecting this permission automatically selects the “Issue Access” permission.
Issue AccessProvides the ability to report new and update existing issues in the organization. Please note that access to issues is subject to issue category settings.
Sensor ManagementProvides the ability to add new and manage existing sensors in the organization. Selecting this permission automatically selects the “Sensor Access” permission.
Sensor AccessProvides the ability to view all sensor-related information in the organization.

Assign permissions

  1. Log in to the iAuditor web app.
  2. Click your organization/team name on the lower-left corner of the page.
  3. Select “Permissions” from the tab on the top of the page.
  4. Click “Assign permissions” on the upper-right corner of the page.
  5. In the pop-up window, type in the name of the user or group you wish to assign permissions to and select the correct option.
  6. Click the down arrow below the user or group name.
  7. Select the permissions you wish to assign in the dropdown menu. If you see permissions already selected and greyed out, it means the user or group has inherited permissions from an existing permission setting on the page. You can hover your cursor over the “i” icon next to the greyed out permissions to find out where the permission is inherited from and follow the section below for instructions to edit or remove the permission.
  8. Click the up arrow to collapse the dropdown menu and select “Assign permissions”.
  9. Repeat from step 4 to assign permissions to other users or groups.

Edit permissions

  1. Log in to the iAuditor web app.
  2. Click your organization/team name on the lower-left corner of the page.
  3. Select “Permissions” from the tab on the top of the page.
  4. In the search field on the upper-left of the permissions list, type in the user or group name you wish to edit permissions for.
  5. Click the down arrow on the right-hand side of the user or group name.
  6. Select or unselect the permissions you wish to assign or remove in the dropdown menu. If you see permissions already selected and greyed out, it means the user or group has inherited permissions from an existing permission setting on the page. You can hover your cursor over the “i” icon next to the greyed out permissions to find out where the permission is inherited from and edit that first.
  7. Click “Save” on the lower-right of the dropdown menu to save the changes.
  8. Repeat from step 4 to edit other permissions.

Remove permissions

  1. Log in to the iAuditor web app.
  2. Click your organization/team name on the lower-left corner of the page.
  3. Select “Permissions” from the tab on the top of the page.
  4. In the search field on the upper-left of the permissions list, type in the user or group name you wish to remove permissions for.
  5. Click the 3 dots next to the user or group name and select “Remove permission”.
  6. Click “Remove” in the pop-up window to confirm the removal.
  7. Repeat from step 4 to remove other permissions.

FAQ

Should I assign permissions to users or groups?

We always recommend creating and assigning permissions to groups as a best practice, as this would allow you to easily provide users permissions by adding them to relevant groups.

What does it mean to inherit permissions?

A user inherits permissions when the organization or a group that this user is part of has been assigned permissions already. For example, if your organization has the “Admin” permission, every user in the organization would inherit this and have the “Admin” permission.

Why does one of my users have the “Template Creation” permission, but I don’t see the user on the Permissions list?

It’s likely that the user has inherited the permission from either the organization or a group. You can search for the names of the organization and groups this user is in on the list, and remove or edit the “Template Creation” permission from there.

Why can I not see all actions in my organization when I have the Data Management and Data Access permission?

Inspections actually need to be shared to your account for you to see the actions created within. Learn how to set up inspection auto-sharing so that nothing gets missed!

Can I remove the permission for my organization?

No, the permission for the organization cannot be removed. This is to ensure that a default set of permissions exist when new users are added to your organization.

If you want users in your organization to have no permissions by default, unless assigned separately, you can follow the instructions above to edit permissions for the organization. Make sure to unselect all permissions for the organization and save the changes.

Was this article helpful?

We love your feedback. Please tell us what you think.


Yes No
Care to share a bit more so we can continue to make improvements for you? Care to share a bit more so we can make this article even better for you? Thanks for your feedback!