Select Section...

What is Organisation Data Ownership?

Organisations of all sizes accumulate a lot of data and useful templates from a variety of sources.  However, issues can arise when there is no clear definition of documents that belong to your organisation

Fortunately, iAuditor allows an organisation to exert ownership over the documents its users create, ensuring that company-specific data and templates remains within the organisation, with centralized document and file control.

 

Why is it Useful?

Administrators can now prevent issues with document ownership – specifically users leaving an organisation with proprietary or company-specific files owned in their personal accounts.  This allows the files created while within the organisation to be owned by the organisation, with controls for the administrators to choose where and by whom the data can be viewed.

 

How do I use it?

Logging In (New Invited Users)

Data ownership takes place when a user joins your organisation.  If a user has previously-created files and accepts an invitation to your organisation, upon login the user will see this prompt:

After clicking ‘Join,’ they will join the organisation and enter their account.

 

Organisation Data Ownership On Documents

When a file is owned by the organisation, you can typically see this by clicking the file in the iAuditor web app and inspecting the window that appears:

In the example above, Tristan has created and authored the document in his account, but it is owned overall by the Precision Group organisation.  

 

Ownership Transfer

In the event that a user would leave the organisation, the administrator would have the option to select another user to retain the documents that were owned by the previous user.

The user selected will receive an email from iAuditor that confirms the change and removal of the previous user.

What is Data Access?

Data access is a special permission on the iAuditor web app.  Any user that is granted this permission will have the ability to View all audits and templates within their organisation.

 

This is useful for setting up a new manager or Administrator that may need visibility on templates and audits within your organisation, but doesn’t need the files on their device.  It also cuts the amount of time spent setting up specific sharing for your administrative users and ensures that no files are missed in the sharing process.

 

To set Data Access permissions for a user:

 

  1. Log in to the iAuditor web app
  2. Click the organisation tab on the left side of the screen.
  3. Click ‘Permissions.’

 

From here you can add a user to the Permissions menu by adding their name or email address in the ‘Assign a permission to a member or a group’ field.

 

If your user is already granted specific permissions, you can click the drop down menu to the right of their name to assign additional permissions, as well.

Note: View access will allow the user to see and use the documents, however they will not be able to Edit or Delete them; they would need the ‘View, Edit, Delete’ permissions set in the Sharing menu, in that case.

Data access will be listed in the drop down menu as a selectable Permission to grant to a user:

Once the user is given the Data Access permission, you will receive a prompt to confirm the permission:

Additionally, an empty Group will automatically be added to the organisation that provides Data Access to the users added to it.  This is useful for adding this permission to multiple users quickly.

Note: Data Access will provide the organisation’s files to the user’s web app, but does not sync the files to a device; this is to prevent an overabundance of files being synced to your device, which can fill up the device’ s storage quickly and lower the device’s performance.  To copy files to your device, they would need to be Shared normally.